d-superpower (#HAWMC day 3)

If I had a superpower, it would be knowing which factor(s) played the most prominent role in whatever random, crazy-ass blood sugar (RCA BG) is showing up on my meter at that point in time. Hell, I’d like to be able to tell which factors were responsible for ANY type 1′s RCA BG! Wouldn’t that be so awesome? No more guessing! No more frustration!

Because, on any given day, some RCA BG shows up (let’s be real, sometimes there are more than one per day) and then I get to play the type 1 “Many Questions Game” to try and figure out what happened, and what to do next. Between equipment malfunctions, type 1 malfunctions, and regular life malfunctions, the number of factors playing a role is huge. Here’s a sample of an RCA BG situation of mine:

3pm. Meter says: 269 mg/dl. Dexcom says: 250 with 1 arrow going straight up ^, meaning the trend is that it’s rising at 2 mg/dl per minute. And the questions start piling up in my brain:

  • Did I eat lunch?
  • What time did I eat lunch?
  • How many carbs were in my lunch?
  • Did I bolus for the carbs in my lunch?
  • Did I SWAG (scientific wild-assed guess) the carbs in my lunch?
  • Did I correct for whatever BG was before lunch?
  • Do I have any IOB (insulin on board) now?
  • Is my pump tubing blocked?
  • Is my pump infusion site bloody, blocked or otherwise malfunctioning?
  • Did my pump site get disconnected?
  • Is my pump site getting too old?
  • Did I refill my pump with insulin this morning?
  • Did I use a new insulin infusion set?
  • Is my pump site in scar tissue?
  • Is my insulin at the end of the bottle, when it can get suspicious for some odd reason?
  • Was I low this morning and turned my basal rate down or off for a while, which F’s up the hours afterward?
  • Was I low this morning and turned my basal rate off, and did I forgot to turn it back on?
  • Did I forget to check earlier this morning for the stupid dawn phenomenon, and correct if it was high?
  • Did my dawn phenomenon go even higher than it usually does this morning?
  • How much caffeine have I had today? Have I had more caffeine than usual?
  • Have I exercised in the last 4 hours? 8 hours? 12 hours? 24 hours?
  • If I did exercise, what kind of exercise was it? aerobic or anaerobic? For how long?
  • Have I gotten up from my desk in the last several hours?
  • Did I eat something in the office kitchen when I was passing through earlier?
  • Did I bolus for whatever I ate, if I ate something?
  • Did I test before I ate, if I bolused?
  • What day of my cycle is it? One of the days each month when I need to crank the temp basal up? (Hello, PMS/insulin resistance!!)
  • Am I stressed–about work, about life, about anything specific? More stressed than usual?
  • Stressed about anything other than this high BG?!?!
  • If I am stressed, what amount of stress am I having and what’s my stress correction factor? How many insulin units per how much stress? HOW does one measure amounts of stress to allocate units of insulin for it?!?!

I got exhausted just typing these questions, nearly as badly as if I were dealing with them right now. With my superpower, I’d know both WHY the RCA BG was whatever # it was, and I’d know WHAT TO DO to fix it immediately and so it didn’t happen again. What a relief that would be.

No. More. Random. Crazy-Ass. Blood. Glucose!

For the wego Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge (#HAWMC) prompt for Day 3: Superpower Day. If you had a superpower – what would it be? How would you use it?

2 Responses to d-superpower (#HAWMC day 3)

  1. amen, sister! love that you’re posting every day! :)

  2. Melissa says:

    Ah, the D Questions game. Sigh. And the worst is when half of them could be the root cause of the problem. Brilliant choice for a superpower, Sarah.

leave me some comment-love right here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,010 other followers

