Happy 1st Anniversary, You Can Do This Project!

Dear Kim,

I have really strong memories of a little more than a year ago today.

It was Tuesday, May 3, 2011. Glee was on.

There were lots of us from the DOC tweeting away.

A brand new Google Chrome commercial came on, for the It Gets Better project.

I watched in awe, and bawled my eyes out. Turns out I wasn’t the only one.

But Kim, in your brilliance–because that’s what it is–you didn’t just cry.

You were inspired.

And you took that energy, that love, and that idea of support and community for every one of us,

and you made something.

Something absolutely amazing.

A year-ish later, and the amazingness has Just. Gotten. Started.

(And shit has gotten extremely real, wouldn’t you say?)

You Can Do This.

Thank you does not seem anywhere NEAR close to how I feel,

but it will have to do, a little bit.

You are a gift, and you’ve given PWD and our loved ones all over the WORLD a gift.

You’re just that kind of cool.

Thank you:

for reminding us.

for sharing with us.

for creating a space for us.

for making it safer to say what it’s like to be us.

for asking us.

for inspiring us.

over and over.

for being YOU.

My tears, this time, are still from awe and inspiration. This time, it’s all about you.

“Would anyone be with me on this?”

Yes.

We are with you.

Love, Sarah

One Response to Happy 1st Anniversary, You Can Do This Project!

  1. Kim says:

    And YOU, my dear, have brought me to tears. I am flattered and awe-struck by all of the posts today; very much by this one right here. Thank you. <3

leave me some comment-love right here!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,010 other followers

