time capsule (#HAWMC day 1)

For this first post for wego Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge, I am pretending that I’m making a time capsule of me and type 1 diabetes that won’t be opened until 2112.There is so much paraphernalia associated with my t1d life, and most all of it absolutely necessary, that I hope the time capsule has LOTS of room! Here are just a few of those necessary items:

One Touch blood glucose test strips; sharps container; apple juice box (4.2 oz./15 carbohydrates); Tegaderm tape; cute little Clinique GWP bag for d-supplies; Dexcom continuous glucose monitor sensor; SkinTac extra adhesive; lancets; insulin pen; poker; insulin pump reservoir; OneTouch Ping blood glucose meter; Novolog insulin; Dexcom Seven Plus continuous glucose monitor; Animas Ping insulin infusion pump.

(do you love the other juice boxes on the nightstand in the background?)

The Most Absolutely Absolute Necessities

Of course I forgot to include a few other absolutely necessary items in the photos: diet coke (!!!), calorieking book/app, and glucose tabs, sure.

Finally, my most recent hemoglobin A1c results, on a big explanatory handout from my endocrinologist, dr. wonderful. I just got it last week, so it’s at the forefront of my d-thinking.

March 2012 HbA1c

I hope no one in 2112 has to know what an HbA1c is. I have no idea what people in 2112 will think of all the d-stuff in my time capsule when they find it…the one hope I have is that they look at it from an archeological perspective–that diabetes will be a long gone historical lesson by that time, and none of the items that are absolutely necessary to my life are necessary anymore. Cure by 2112? Yes. Please. Sooner? Even better.

This is Day 1/Post 1 for the wego Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge (#HAWMC). Woot! 

2 Responses to time capsule (#HAWMC day 1)

  1. valerieadams says:

    Better toss a few batteries in there too!

leave me some comment-love right here!

