a (free) day in the d-life… (#HAWMC day 7)


A regular ol’ day in the d-life of smartDpants.

6:30am: Alarm goes off, get up, walk across bedroom, turn it off. Sit back down on the bed. Reach to the floor beside my bed, grab my purse, test my blood. Deal with whatever the number says…If it’s below 65 mg/dl, drink 4.2 oz. of juicy juice apple juice, of which I have 8 or less boxes on my bedside table (that’s how many come in a pack). If it’s 120 mg/dl or higher, give a correction bolus of insulin to lower it. Sometimes that overnight basal rate sticks just right, I have a flatline throughout the 12-6:30am range, and I don’t have to treat either way. Love.

6:35-7:15am: Get ready for work. While I shower, leave continuous glucose monitor (CGM) on the bathroom counter. Disconnect insulin pump tubing and leave pump on the counter as well. Once in a rare while, I might get a “free shower” where either my CGM sensor or my pump site have to be removed and replaced, and I’ll remove it before, and shower without 1 of these items stuck to my body, and replace it afterward. Only once every several years does everything actually line up so that I get a COMPLETELY FREE SHOWER WITH NOTHING STUCK TO MY BODY. Bliss.

7:15am: Wrangle our daughter, 6 year old Ms. Diva, out of bed to get ready for school.

7:30am: Make breakfast for Ms. Diva. Get water in the outside dish for our 2 big boo-boo-dogs. Get water and food in the inside dishes for the boo-boos, invite them to partake in their breakfast too. Give 13.5 year old boo-boo his pain meds for joint/hip problems in a teaspoonful of peanut butter. Try to remember to take my OWN meds: multivitamin, 2000 mg Vitamin D, allergy OTC, and 81 mg aspirin.

7:45am: Test my blood again. The breakfast conundrum: If I eat the same breakfast that I eat 90% of the time, I don’t have to worry much at all about my BG for the next few hours. It fills me up, doesn’t have very many carbs, and is yummy. It’s a slice of whole wheat bread toasted with a slice of havarti cheese melted on it, with 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites scrambled on top. With it, my BG barely raises and I don’t have to think about it. But too many mornings I try to think of something different to eat, waste a whole ton of time, and end up having something that sends my BG high above 140. Sigh.

8am: Walk Ms. Diva 2-3 blocks to school. This tiny little amount of walking is a crapshoot–if I’m low or on the lower side of target range before we go, I have to make sure to grab a juice box or glucose tabs before we embark. If I’m high, I hope that walking will kick the insulin into a higher gear to get it back down. Even if I’m in the “no prob” range before, I better grab the juice just in case. Crapshoot.

8:30-9am: Drive my sweetie to work, then make my way to the office. Along the way, watch the CGM to see which direction the BG is going. Many times, have to do BG tests as well.

9am: Get into the office. Pull BG meter, poker and test strips bottle out of my purse and set them on my desk. It helps me remember to test with them sitting right in front of me throughout the day. My work involves sitting at a computer most of the day, with some meetings in the office and some on the phone. So it’s usually very easy to test, and I try to do it around 5-7 times during the work day.

12:30pm: Eat lunch. Hopefully I’ve remembered to bring mine, yummy leftovers from home. If not, I grab something from one of a couple places close by my office. Then it’s another quandry: high-carb but yummy and easy deli sandwich at about 48 carbs for the whole wheat roll, or very low-carb and yummy salad with grilled chicken from the Mexican restaurant, maybe 20 carbs with a few tortilla chips? Or just grab a protein bar from my desk drawer stocked with juice boxes, glucose tabs, peanut butter, and the bars?

Regardless, I test. And almost always, I bolus. (Unless I forget to bolus, in which case, the next few hours are spent realizing that my BG is rising and figuring out the reason why.)

1pm: Far too rarely, I will actually remember to rouse myself from the office and get outside for a 15-20min. walk. Writing this has reminded me I need to get that back in the schedule. Soonest.

1-5pm: Research, email, write, talk, and write, write, write some more. Test the BG  several more times throughout the afternoon. Treat as indicated. Watch the CGM during meetings, silence the incessant vibrating as necessary.

5pm: Leave to pick up my sweetie at her work, and then Ms. Diva. Watch the CGM and be ready to test and treat as needed.

6pm: Get home. Figure out what to have for dinner. I don’t cook at all, and for our 16+ years together, my partner has done all of the cooking, and she’s amazing at it. Thank her. Again.

6:30pm: Test. Bolus. Eat.

7-11pm: Evening things: get Ms. Diva ready for bed, clean kitchen, talk with my partner, watch TV, Facebook/Twitter/email/blog, get ready for bed. Try to test 2-4 times before bed. Often, my pump will need to be refilled in the evening. Make sure to do that before bed.

11pm: Fight the sometimes-strangely-strong urge to watch Friends on Nick at Nite waaaaaaaayy too late during the week, and quite frankly, too late on weekends as well. Get ready for and go to bed.

Test. Drink juice, or correction bolus as indicated. Check pump for insulin on board (how much insulin is still available and acting from my last bolus). Check CGM to see which direction the arrows are pointing, compare to insulin on board. Hope that everything’s set so that my basal rates will get me through the night without the CGM vibrating its lights out again and again, and waking me (us) up all throughout the night. Make sure at least a couple juice boxes are on the nightstand.

11:30pm: There it is, another day in the life. Bolus-worthy sweet dreams!

This post is for wego Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge: Day 7. Health Activist Choice! Write about what you want today. Daily Schedule. Write a list of your daily routine from the moment you wake up until the moment you go to bed. Be honest!

To find all kinds of awesome posts from all kinds of wonderful health activists, check out the wego health Facebook page.

leave me some comment-love right here!

