this morning I looked in the mirror and… #hawmc day 12

This morning I looked in the mirror…

And saw 39 years of me.

6:41am #bgthen 72

A tired mama who should go to bed earlier.

A professional researcher and writer who’s looking for her next big project.

Brown eyes. Tousled dark blonde hair that gets darker by the year, yet I still like it in its natural state. Summer sunshine will provide some fun highlights.

Hair that needs a haircut. (Check calendar for next appt.)

Wrinkles? Really? When did those happen? I still think I (and everyone else my age) looks young–like 30, if not 25.

Leftover continuous glucose monitor sensor stickiness in the shape of an oval, in the last 2 places where Dex was on my arm and midsection. Hate that it leaves behind its remnants. Glad that it sticks for so long. (7 days, medtech corps and FDA? C’mon, we can do better than that.)

Day 18 for this CGM sensor. Excellent. (Order more sensors.)

Nice teeth. Need to remember to use the waterpik thing the dentist is so crazy about…

Diabetes and gum disease. Have to stay ahead of it. Not one of the complications they yammered on about for the first 30 years of my type 1 D. No, they were more concerned with my “noncompliant” behavior causing my feet to have to be cut off. No one mentioned gums until recently.

But: no cavities ever! Sparkling smile! Fluoride, braces and headgear did their job too! Woot!

Even though I eat cupcakes. And Easter candy. And whatever the hell I want, and it works okay as long as I do the carb counting insulin dosing math right and remember to bolus.

And test, always test.

7:30am #bgthen 101

(No, I haven’t been standing here looking in the mirror the whole time. There are things to do and I’m doing them. Just thought it would be interesting to throw that BG in there.)

Love my brown eyes. They provide fun contrast to the blonde hair. I didn’t think that when I was pre-teen/teen/college. Blue eyes were the thing. I got teased a lot about the brown eyes when I was little. But I like them now.

Every time I think about my eyes: RETINOPATHY BLOOD VESSELS BREAKING BLINDNESS SCARY SCARY ALWAYS SCARY

Stop.

When is that next opthamologist appt? Check calendar. Need new glasses too, and while we’re there a new Rx for contacts. That’s a separate appt. Good grief, with dilating it could take a whole day. No idea when I can fit that in.

Hello, Ping (insulin infusion pump) site. When was the last time I changed you? How are you looking this morning? Red and inflamed? Painful, or do I have a few more days? Scar tissue? Probably.

I’m running out of site “real estate” and I use nearly every location I can find: stomach, hips, bum, back, arm, thigh…I haven’t tried calf or boob yet, and don’t think I will. But I know others who have. Whatever works–just like real real estate, it’s all about location. The more choices, the better.

I wish I could just look in the mirror and see what’s there. I wish all of these parts of my body didn’t have extra, not-so-subliminal thoughts that come along with them.

Tired mama. Tired woman. Tired woman with type 1.

Almost 32 years with type 1 would make many people tired, I guess.

8:01am #bgthen 111

Day 12 prompt for wego Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge: Stream of Consciousness Day. Start with the sentence “This morning I looked in the mirror…” just write, don’t stop, don’t edit. Post!

Check out many more posts from all kinds of amazing health activist writers at wego health’s Facebook page.

2 Responses to this morning I looked in the mirror and… #hawmc day 12

  1. MelissaBL says:

    I’m so glad you’re doing this challenge. You are a WONDERFUL writer.

  2. Colleen says:

    This was awesome!

leave me some comment-love right here!

