negative. again. #hawmc day 23

 

Lately, a lot of the blogs I think about writing are about something I’m really tentative about putting “out there,” here, on this page. That would make it real, and something I have to deal with, and while I put on this face of smart snark and usually love that part of me, I haven’t been able to get there yet with this particular topic. But I’m tired–really, super tired–of carrying it around with me. While I still don’t know the answer (and it pains me to even say that), or what I’m going to do or how I’m going to deal, I have to put this baggage down. Here and now.

So here it is: I was supposed to be pregnant by now.

I was supposed to have lots of fun and challenging and joyful and interesting stuff about being pregnant with type 1 diabetes to blog about. Maybe I’d even have given birth by now…it’s been such a long time (in my head, anyway), if the first IUI had worked a little more than a year ago and everything had gone well and according to plan, there would be a baby in the house now.

Not so much.

My life partner and I are both women. So it takes a ton of money, time, and mental and emotional energy in ADDITION to all that it takes to keep the diabetes in line, in order to try to get pregnant. Selecting and purchasing frozen sperm. Making appointments with fertility docs; having lots of ultrasounds; taking fertility meds (pills) that make my BGs go absolutely CRAZY HIGH and make me absolutely insulin resistant; extra shots of fertility meds. Then the IUI procedure (a different kind of shooting up than the type 1 kind, for sure!) and a couple of weeks of trying to forget that we’re waiting, while taking more hormones that also keep the BGs riding HIGH HIGH HIGH. Then there’s the stress from waiting and trying not to remember, that awakens the emotional, disordered eating patterns and also contributes to the difficulty of keeping the BGs down.

Throughout it all, I’ve been trying so hard to keep my diabetes “control” much tighter than ever before. I got my HbA1c down to 6.0 (an average of about 120 mg/dl) in December 2011 before we started trying, and it’s been between 5.8 and 6.0 since then. My target BG  is 100. I did, and do, this in order to keep getting the thumbs up from the endo so I can keep visiting the fertility docs. I honestly don’t know if I will be able to keep the supertight control going if I’m not doing it in pursuit of the pregnancy goal. I wasn’t able to do it, or didn’t care enough to do it, before I wanted to get pregnant.

Accompanying all of the “regular” type 1 crap, the “managing diabetes while trying to get pregnant” crap, and the “trying to get pregnant for the first time at age 39 with hormones and IUI” crap, six times in the last year, there’s been the total disappointment. Frustration. Grief. Pain. Anger. Feeling hopeless. Like a failure. Like there’s something wrong with me. Every time I wasn’t successful.

Wait, all of that kind of fun was supposed to be from type 1 diabetes. I’ve had all of those feelings since I was diagnosed with t1D thirty-one years ago. And for the last year, I’ve felt twice as much of those feelings, over and over again. It’s sucked. A lot.

I found the DOC in 2010 when I was first ready to move forward with taking better care of my diabetes in order to get pregnant. My HbA1c was about 8.0 then. All I had in my head was stupid “Shelby, drink your juice” Steel Magnolias, kidney failure, and death with regard to having type 1 and getting pregnant, much less having a baby. The first blog I found was about a young woman’s diabetes-related complications and complicated pregnancy with type 1, and it scared the living crap out of me. It took me a few more weeks after that to get up the courage to google “pregnancy and type 1 diabetes” again. That’s when I found Kerri. MelissaLyrecha. And began to feel like yes, there was some hope and maybe I COULD do this.

It’s not fair (stamp foot) that I finally learned/realized I wouldn’t have to pull a Shelby and die in order to give birth, decided to pull myself together and take care of myself and my D, and got the whole type 1 pre-pregnancy-prep thing down pretty well for more than a year, yet…nothing. Not. Fair.

I did the 6th negative pregnancy test a few weeks ago. Negative. Again.

Not. Fair.

4 Responses to negative. again. #hawmc day 23

  1. moiramcc says:

    I am now officially adding “Send Sara a pregnancy!” to my daily wish list. Have faith — I hope in six months you blog about morning sickness. HUGS!

  2. MelissaBL says:

    It took us nine months to TTC Sweetie and we went through those awful insulin-resistant fertility drugs, too. But your situation involves a lot more hurdles. I’m so sorry it hasn’t happened yet. You’re not a failure. You’re amazing.

  3. Janet K says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your challenge getting pregnant – it takes a lot of courage to share your story. It isn’t fair. I remember managing diabetes before and during pregnancy was a second full-time job. You are doing an amazing job at that! I hope and pray that you’ll have a “positive” soon, whatever you decide to do.

  4. Colleen says:

    Yup, it’s not fair. And I’m sorry. But now you have more of us adding our wishes to yours. And now you have another place to stamp your foot!
    Hugs and baby wishes for you!

leave me some comment-love right here!

