sparkle, my d-mascot #hawmc day 24

I’m no artist–not a visual artist, anyway. You need a light mezzo-soprano for a symphonic choir? Sure, I’m your girl. Broadway belt of “Defying Gravity” or “Take Me or Leave Me?” All over it. Singing, acting, playing the piano…that’s me. Drawing, painting, taking photos, graphic design, other awesome talents of creating wonderful images that I totally appreciate and honor in others? Nonexistent right here. But I’ll do the best I can for this prompt.

So, here’s my health mascot. Her name is Sparkle, obviously. Not an original idea, mind you. Sprinkles, the diabetes advocacy unicorn, got there first. And Kim did a really cool overview of why everyone with diabetes needs their own unicorn. Truth.

Sparkle, the smartDpants mascot

I came across this particular mascot quite randomly in a gift shop at Philadelphia International Airport. I was  looking around for a gift for my daughter, Ms. Diva, who was 5 years old at the time. This just spoke to me, from a corner of the shop…but Ms. Diva isn’t really into unicorns. (She’s very much a dinosaur girl.)

Sparkle has her own fuzzy and glittery bag, which I love–she can take care of herself, carries her own shelter, she can even zip herself in and take a nap as needed.

Because naps are most definitely needed. As is shelter, of course (glittery and pink, sure!). And bringing what we need with us, so that we can take care of ourselves. This photo of Sparkle reminds me that I have whatever I need with me–whether that’s diabetes supplies (most of the time!!), or my own brain and spirit.

Sparkle and her lovely bag also remind me that it’s okay to let others support and carry me sometimes. That one is much harder for me to keep in mind and follow through, but it’s good to be reminded that I don’t have to do it all myself, all the time.

And that I should hunker down, surround myself with pretty comfort, and take a nap more often.

Thanks, Sparkle. Sweet, bolusworthy advocacy dreams.

wego Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge prompt for Day 24:  Health Mascot. Give yourself, your condition, or your health focus a mascot. Is it a real person? Fictional? Mythical being? Describe them. Bonus points if you provide a visual!

One Response to sparkle, my d-mascot #hawmc day 24

  1. Janet K says:

    I’ve never heard that diabetics should all have a unicorn – guess I’ll have to be on the lookout for one!

leave me some comment-love right here!

