just one thing

Wow. I didn’t think this would be very hard, and yet it totally is. I can think of a zillion things with diabetes that I could stand to improve (I guess some of that’s for tomorrow’s post). But one thing I do really well?

Huh?

This is silly, but I seriously couldn’t think of one thing to put down here. So I turned to A. next to me on the couch.

I asked, “Honey, can you think of one thing I do really well with my diabetes?”

Without skipping a beat or looking up from her laptop, she said “You test like a FIEND.”

She’s right. I do test like a fiend. I test, on average, about 13 times a day. My little One Touch Ping is always at the ready–I put it, my good old BD poker, and my current canister of test strips on my desk at work every day, so it’s always looking at me and reminding me to test. Other than that, my testing paraphanalia is in my purse, which I keep near me at. all. times. (When we went to stay with friends for Thanksgiving last year, they noticed that my purse was always near me, and if it wasn’t, I was looking for it. Yes, it’s a little strange. But it works for me.)

I generally test around the following times:

*wake up (6/6:30am weekdays, 8am weekends if I’m lucky and Ms. Diva sleeps in)

*when I get back from walking

*before breakfast

*when I get to work (9am-ish)

*mid-morning

*before lunch

*after lunch/mid-afternoon

*late afternoon/before driving home from work

*before dinner

*after dinner

*later evening

*before bed (11am weeknights, 12 or 1am weekends)

*in the middle of the night, whenever one of the dogs or Ms. Diva wakes up and wakes us up, because really, if any of them wakes me up, I may as well make good use of it!

I also test during exercise. Whenever Dex the CGM screams at me irrationally, or constantly, or without any rhyme or need other than to just be annoying. If I feel really sick, or am actually RPS (real person sick).

I have been testing on this sort of schedule for about 3 years, since I started thinking about trying to get my HbA1c lower than the 7.4 where it was stuck. The more I test, the easier it is for me to keep the BG lower. I like feeling as good as I do with my current BG average and HbA1c, regardless of how anything else is or isn’t going. So I test like a fiend.

A FIEND.

And it works for me.

Your diabetes may vary, of course. Everyone doesn’t have to do what I do.

(After typing the word so many times, the word “test” is kind of bugging me. But it’s what I grew up saying, and it’s still the term I often use. Once in a while, I’ll say “check” my blood. Anyway, it doesn’t usually bother me. Hope you’re okay with it too. I DEFINITELY don’t think any of us succeed or fail by what number our blood “test” says!!!)

Like a FIEND.

Thanks for the help, sweetheart. 😉

 

 

Click here for the One Great Thing – Tuesday 5/15 Link List!

D-Blog Week 2012, Day 2: Living with diabetes (or caring for someone who lives with it) sure does take a lot of work, and it’s easy to be hard on ourselves if we aren’t “perfect”. But today it’s time to give ourselves some much deserved credit. Tell us about just one diabetes thing you (or your loved one) does spectacularly! Fasting blood sugar checks, oral meds sorted and ready, something always on hand to treat a low, or anything that you do for diabetes. Nothing is too big or too small to celebrate doing well!

11 Responses to just one thing

  1. Jasmine says:

    I love it that sometimes those closest to us have a much better sense of what is ACTUALLY happening with us. I didn’t even think to ask the husband…..I just had to sort of stream of consciousness work through it! Next time, next time.
    Good work on checking so often!

  2. StephenS says:

    I never thought about the test vs. check thing. I just say that I’ve gotta jab my finger. Can’t bring myself to say Test. Semantics.

    As someone who wasn’t very good at t-t-testing for a long time, I applaud your fiendishness. Best of luck with the next A1c!

  3. StephenS says:

    Never thought about the test vs. check thing. I like to say that I’m going to jab my finger. Can’t bring myself to say the word Test. Semantics.

    As someone who has not been great at t-t-testing in the past, I applaud your fiendishness. Best of luck on your next A1c!

  4. Love it… Testing like a ‘fiend’ is my new saying 🙂 Like a FIEND!

  5. An adult pwd was cast in the same D educational video that my daughter was in. In the video she shared parts of a book she wrote. While waiting for the taping to begin the adult with D was reading her book and while very impressed he disapproved of the 10-14 times a day my daughter checks her sugars. He said it seemed like too much. Of course he was wearing a Dexcom which does much of his checking for him. I personally don’t think 10-14 times a day is excessive if not wearing a Dexcom and even with a Dexcom I would still think at least testing 6 -8 times a day would be necessary. I love that you test so much as an adult and hope my kids stay as vigilant and have the resources to do so. Keep up the fiendish work.

  6. Drew says:

    I hate the word test too, but use it interchangeably with check as well. Keep it up!

  7. Good for you. One of my d-friends here in Minneapolis says she has “the fingers of a stonemason”.

  8. Jess says:

    my husband may or may not have helped me with this post as well… 😉

  9. like a fiend. a FIEND. my new favourite word, in ALL CAPS of course! But go you for testing that much, knowledge is power 😀

  10. like a fiend. a FIEND! My new favourite word, in ALL CAPS, of course. but go you for testing that much, knowledge is power. 🙂

  11. Tina Shaye C says:

    Testing like a FIEND is definitely something to be proud of 🙂

leave me some comment-love right here!

